Monday, November 12, 2012

Blog Tour: Loving Summer - Review

Loving Summer
By Kailan Gow
Release Date: May 28, 2012

Summer has always looked forward to spending her summers at her Aunt's beach house with the Donovans. To her, summers at Aunt Sookie's beach house was magical, especially getting to spend time with the Donovans - her best friend Rachel and Rachel's brothers Nathaniel, and Drew. Here at Aunt Sookie's beach house, they can be anyone and anything they dreamed. For Summer, she had always wished to become as pretty as Rachel and for her brothers to think of her as more than Rachel's friend. For Nat and Drew, summers at Aunt Sookie's beach house meant fun and escape, a place where they go to with their mom and sister for the summer, away from city life. They never thought this summer would be different. They never thought things would change as much as they did...and it all began with them falling for and loving Summer.

So I have a new appreciation for Kailin Gow, because I really love her contemporary books and the more I read from her the more I’m addicted to her writing. I’m intrigued and I’m ready for any scenario she’s ready to throw at me.

Forever Summer is a love story but on many different levels, because there are at least three people who are all in love with the same girl. She seems to go back and forth some but who can blame her because I can only imagine what the guys look like in real life because they are described quite deliciously and all very differently. Maybe if she combined them all together, he he.

First let’s start off by saying that its summer and the first time these group of friends have been together in about three years. The main characters of this lovely story are Summer, Nat, Drew and Rachel, with Astor and Sookie thrown in for a bit. Summer is used to spending her summer’s with her Aunt Sookie and sometimes the Donovan children. This summer is different though because they haven’t seen each other in a while and there is so much going on. All have grown up very differently but still they will always be one tight knit little group.

Summer has blossomed quite a bit and for someone who has always been in love with Nat, is excited that he might feel the same way, although he tends to string her along with the whole yes but no but yes but no. Then there is Drew who has actually been in love with Summer for probably as long as she has been with Nat, isn’t that always the case. Rachel is Summer’s best friend and the only girl in the Donovan clan, she luckily meets someone who is on the same path as her.

Throughout the book you see the different relationships that Summer shares with all the characters, and even a budding romance with Astor who is an actor in a show and is taking lessons at her Aunt Sookie’s theater school. There are conflicts between all the boys and Summer because they are all vying for her attention. It gets all a little cumbersome for her at times, I really don’t know who she will end up with but I know who I am rooting for. I really can’t wait to see what happens in the next book. It was all really fun to read and to learn about these great new characters.

I love the cover too, I just hope the guy in the picture is the guy I want for her, Ha! Who knows it could be either of them. Really great story!

About the Author:

Kailin Gow has appeared on top national syndicated talk shows such as ABC Radio, Barbara Dooley show, Chat with Women on KKNW Seattle, Broadminded on Sirius Radio XM, and more as a leading authority on YA and women's issues including self-esteem, body image, dating and sexual relationships, abuse, and bullying. Kailin has been a published author for over 10 years with over 100 titles published under her name and under pen names.

She is the founder of the community social site, The Saving You Saving Me Project, which helps teens, young adults, and women deal with social issues like sexual abuse, self-esteem, body image, bullying, cutting, relationships, and more in a positive community environment. The Saving You Saving Me Project is an extention of her YA-mature fiction Saving You Saving Me.

Kailin Gow began writing books for tween girls to help them with self-confidence and self-esteem. Her book, Gifted Girls Activities Guide to 365 Days of the Week, became a reference book used in girls organizations across the U.S. As her tween fans grew to become teens and young adults, Kailin began writing engaging and entertaining young adult book series for them. The results are book series like the Frost Series, PULSE Series, Wicked Woods Series, Stoker Sisters, Phantom Diaries, The Fire Wars, FADE, DESIRE, and more.

All her books are inspired by personal experiences. Saving You Saving Me was inspired by her experience as a peer counselor for young women during college and from her psychology major college roommate's experience being in a relationship similar to the one portrayed by Sam and Collins in the book. Loving Summer was inspired by Kailin's experience growing up with a family consisting of a mother, two sons, and a daughter who went through a similar experience of tragedy in the book. Aunt Sookie is based on herself and some actor friends she knows. The Frost Series, Circus of Curiosities Series, and FADE Series came about through vivid dreams. Never Say Never was inspired by Kailin's experience as a radio host and working with and interviewing bands, as well as having college friends who were in bands. Kailin also played the drums and keyboard for a band she once started. A classically-trained musician, she was once led her school orchestra, playing first chair violin. Her experience in the music world and her love of Phantom of the Opera, inspired the Phantom Diaries. PULSE was inspired when Kailin was in the hospital suffering from heavy blood loss post surgery and needed several bags of blood to survive (like a vampire). Beautiful Beings was inspired by her college encounter with a young demon exorcist. A pastor once told her she had the gift of sight and that she was destined to become a prolific author, many times over.

She began taking her writing seriously when her daughter was diagnosed as being on the spectrum and her mother was fighting three types of cancer. Four years later, her daughter was no longer on the spectrum, and her mother became cancer free. Kailin believes in hope and miracles, after having been through several struggles and experiences herself. This is why she writes.

When not busy inhaling chocolate and drinking coffee by the gallon, Kailin makes time for writing fantasy books, blogging as an expert blogger for Fast Company, volunteering as an Emergency Responder and volunteering for battered women's shelters. For fun, she plays the electric violin, and puts together a music playlist for her radio and web shows.

Her Frost Series consisting of the Bitter Frost Series, The Wolf Fey Series, and the Fairy Rose Chronicles along with her other book series are being developed into worldwide MMORPG Games by SEE GLOBAL ENTERTAINMENT, which is the world's leading game developer known for developing the top blockbuster films into games.

Contact Links
To sign up for news on new releases, contests, events, and more, join
Twitter - @kailingow


1 comment:

Anonymous said...

There are really sites that are not reliable. Thanks for sharing some tips on how to check legitimate an online sating sites. Click this dating site reviews please for more details.