Friday, June 23, 2017

Review: Trusting You & Other Lies by Nicole Williams

Trusting You & Other Lies
By: Nicole Williams
Release Date:

Description:
USA Today and New York Times bestselling author Nicole Williams delivers a seductive summer romance worth swooning over. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Stephanie Perkins.

Phoenix can't imagine anything worse than being shipped off to family summer camp. Her parents have been fighting for the past two years--do they seriously think being crammed in a cabin with Phoenix and her little brother, Harry, will make things better? 

On top of that, Phoenix is stuck training with Callum--the head counselor who is seriously cute but a complete know-it-all. His hot-cold attitude means he's impossible to figure out--and even harder to rely on. But despite her better judgment, Phoenix is attracted to Callum. And he's promising Phoenix a summer she'll never forget. Can she trust him? Or is this just another lie?

Review:
Ahh, Nicole Williams has done it again.  She has succeeded in giving me all the necessary fills throughout a book.  This was a ride I would go on again, the book was just flat out amazing.  The character interactions, the emotions, the real life scenarios, it was just beautiful.  Trust, it’s a hard thing to get back, but it’s an important thing to have with anyone. 

We meet Phoenix, which when you finish the book couldn’t have been a more perfect name for the main character, who is on her way to spend the summer at a family camp, with her disastrous family.  She doesn’t have too much of any high hopes that this vacation will be any good especially with all the background drama happening with her family.  But being young, you really have no choice but to go along. This is where she meets Callum.  He’s quite the enigma himself, keeping to himself but somehow she breaks down through some of those barriers. 

The relationship the develop is very sweet and endearing, gives you high hopes that there are good things out there in life for us, but it’s their trust and sometimes lack of trust in one another that made their relationship just so real and believable.  I felt for them, and I was rooting for them throughout the whole book.  There were moments that made me smile, moments that made me sad and broke my heart and then of course moments that just outright made me cry throughout this book but those moments they shared gave me butterflies, and those are the best kinds of moments.

This book not only talked about romance, and love but it was about family.  Trusting your family and making sure your family trusted you.  It was a beautiful story to show this dynamic, everything isn’t always perfect but it’s how you perceive and work through those issues that make you the family you are.  It will bring everyone closer together.  Don’t get me wrong I loved the scenes between Callum and Phoenix, but those moments with her mom and her dad, and the precious ones with her brother, those are the memories I will keep the dearest to me from this book.  Family is everything.

I will definitely give some high praise to this book because trust and lies sometimes they go hand in hand, and sometimes you just have to learn why someone did what they did to get clarity on everything.
I loved the characters in the book, the scenery with it being at camp, and it being summer and all.  I really enjoyed reading through the different situations that took place in the book, again very believable and realistic, and dare I say may even be helpful to some who read it.  Sometimes you just have to remember that sometimes people do certain things in your best interest, even if you don’t see it that way at first.


Go read this book! It’s worth it and you will not regret it.  It really touched my heart and to that I thank the author, Nicole Williams, who has yet to let me down in any story of hers that I’ve read.  


Disclaimer:

I received this book from NetGalley and Random House Children, so that I may give my honest opinion and a review. Whether it is good or not please do not let it discourage you from purchasing/reading the book yourself and forming your own opinion. What might be good for me may not be good for you and vice versa. With that said, Happy Reading Everyone!!!

Post a Comment