Tuesday, May 2, 2017

Review: It Started With Goodbye by Christina June

It Started With Goodbye
By: Christina June
Release Date: May 9, 2017

Description:
Sixteen-year-old Tatum Elsea is bracing for the worst summer of her life. After being falsely accused of a crime, she’s stuck under stepmother-imposed house arrest and her BFF’s gone ghost. Tatum fills her newfound free time with community service by day and working at her covert graphic design business at night, which includes trading emails with a cute cello-playing client. If Tatum is reading his emails right, her virtual Prince Charming is funny, smart, and talented—and he seems to think the same about her. Too bad he’s spending his summer across the ocean in Ireland…not that Tatum would be allowed to go on a date anyway.

But over the course of the summer, Tatum will learn that sometimes going after what you want means breaking all the rules. And when Tatum discovers she’s not the only one in the house keeping secrets, she finds she has the chance to make amends with her family and friends. Equipped with a new perspective, and assisted by her feisty step-abuela-slash-fairy-godmother, Tatum is ready to start fresh and maybe even get her happy ending along the way. A modern play on the Cinderella story arc, Christina June’s IT STARTED WITH GOODBYE will appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen, Stephanie Perkins, and Jennifer E. Smith.

Advance Praise
"[A] fun, contemporary take on the Cinderella tale that explores what it takes to be yourself while finding you place in life, love and your family." - Lisa Maxwell, author of Unhooked, Sweet Unrest, and Gathering Deep.
LinksThis


Review:
This was a really great debut for Christina June.  This isn’t your typical YA book, sure there are YA characters in it but it’s not about insta love, crushes, and all that romantical stuff.  No, this book was about reality, family, forgiveness, and understanding and finding out the person you are and want to become.  It’s not a comping of age story but more of a coming of understanding story.  It really was endearing.

We meet Tate as she’s about to experience something unexpected and completely not her fault, but here she is at the wrong place at the wrong time with the wrong people and things happened.  Because of this one event everything just starts to tumble downhill, or does it?  She’s been accused of something she didn’t do and now she is suffering those consequences by doing community service and being under the strict eye of her stepmother while her dad is away.  Things have never been easy for Tate and Belen, there’s always been something keeping Tate from understanding her stepmother.  That is until this summer of course, the same could go for her stepsister Tilly. 

Throughout the book you watch as Tate continues to grow as a person, outside of her normal bubble.  Learns how to interact with new people, learns that she is really good at something that can help her make a better future for herself.  She also learns about the importance of family and trust.  There are so many great things about this book but I don’t really want to give the plot away too much because it’s something you should definitely pick up and read for yourself.  Don’t worry there is a bit of flirting and romance that will make you feel very hopeful for Tate.

Tate was an overall relatable character, she could very well have been a friend of yours and her experiences are all based in realistic terms.  There are no rainbows and unicorns in this book, just the nitty gritty truth and that’s what I liked most about it.  Yes there were some definite Cinderella undertones, but it wasn’t even about that.  (Because we all know how Cinderella turned out) This book gave you more of a view into Tate and her families’ lives and bought you the understanding that sometimes you just have to look at things from a different perspective.  Great book!


Post a Comment